Listen to ‘New Birth In New England’ here:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website

Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck has announced his new album C’est La Vie, to be released 5 October via Dead Oceans as well as sharing the lead single ‘New Birth In New England’. Houck’s first new Phosphorescent release in five years chronicles a life-altering period which saw him fall in love, start a family, leave New York, build a studio from the ground up, and battle serious illness. With a focus on translating these profound experiences to music as intuitively as he could, Houck pushes the boundaries of what a Phosphorescent record can sound like, balancing the earthy and the incandescent, the troubled and the serene, creating his own musical cosmos in the process.

“It’s laughable, honestly, how many life-altering events happened,” in the last half decade, says Houck. “The most significant moments in your life make you feel your insignificance.”

Nowhere is this more evident than on the new song ‘New Birth In New England’ from C’est La Vie, a deceptively breezy snapshot survey of some of those life-altering events.

C’est La Vie was produced by Houck and recorded at his Spirit Sounds Studio in Nashville, newly built specifically with these sessions in mind. Much of the record’s sonic texture came together in one week of live rehearsals, featuring Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel and Houck’s wife Jo Schornikow on Wurlitzer and organ.

C’est La Vie follows the 2013 Phosphorescent album Muchacho, Houck’s best-reviewed and best-selling album to date. The album included his breakthrough track ‘Song For Zula‘ with praise including an 8.8 ‘Best New Music’ from Pitchfork#11 in Mojo‘s end of year list and acclaim from publications across the board. It also saw him perform on Jimmy Fallon for the first time, tour extensively with Father John Misty and The National, play Glastonbury, Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza.

Phosphorescent will tour extensively through the end of 2018, with a full list of newly announced dates below.

Pre-order C’est La Vie here:

Photo credit: Daniel Arnold

C’est La Vie tracklist:

1. Black Moon / Silver Waves
2. C’est La Vie No. 2
3. New Birth in New England
4. There From Here
5. Around The Horn
6. Christmas Down Under
7. My Beautiful Boy
8. These Rocks
9. Black Waves / Silver Moon

2018 Tour dates:

26 Oct – Liverpool @ Grand Central Hall – TICKETS
28 Oct – Leeds @ Brudenell Social Club – TICKETS
30 Oct – London @ Shepherd’s Bush Empire – TICKETS

14 Oct – Stockholm, SE @ Berns
15 Oct – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller
16 Oct – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
17 Oct – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
19 Oct – Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
20 Oct – Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club
22 Oct – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
23 Oct – Brussels, BE @ Autumn Falls at Botanique (Orangerie)
24 Oct – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
27 Oct – Dublin @ Tivoli Variety Theatre

All North American dates will be supported by Liz Cooper and The Stampede.

Tickets are available here:

Praise for Muchacho

“Phosphorescent has followed 2010’s country-rock homage Here’s To Taking It Easy with an equally magnificent beast”
8/10 Uncut

“Houck embraces his inner Eno”
4/5 Mojo

“Unquestionably excellent”
4/5 Q

“A beautiful outing in hauntingly, pastoral heartbreak. Impressive.”
8/10 Clash

“Matthew Houck is a gutsy, one man band who, when he wants to, can imitate a choir of heartbroken angels”

“A thing of rare beauty”
4.5/5 The Sun

“Houck drifts in from heartache’s high plains with some magisterial material”
4/5 The Independent

“Shimmers of sheer magic”
4/5 Daily Telegraph

“On Muchacho, Houck gathers together everything he’s attempted– beery, rollicking country-rock, haunted tribal hymnals, regret-soaked bar room heartbreak– and fashions it into something close to a defining statement”
8.8 Pitchfork

“Throughout, Houck solidifies his standing as one of the most remarkable voices around”
The Line of Best Fit