Sufjan and Angelo

Sufjan and Angelo



Watch the video for ‘Back To Oz’ here:

And listen to ‘Fictional California’ here:

A Beginner’s Mind
Sufjan Stevens | Bandcamp | Instagram
Angelo De Augustine | Bandcamp | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Sufjan Stevens¬†and¬†Angelo De Augustine¬†have today shared two new songs. ‘Back To Oz’ (inspired by the 1985 film¬†Return To Oz) arrives with a video directed by¬†Alex Horan¬†of Straight To Tell and animated by¬†Clara Murray. ‘Fictional California’ (inspired by¬†Bring It On Again) is also out today. Both tracks are taken from Sufjan and Angelo‚Äôs forthcoming collaborative full-length,¬†A Beginner‚Äôs Mind, out September 24 on Asthmatic Kitty Records.

“This was a song that I had written mostly at home in California,”¬†says Angelo.¬†“We finished its lyrics after watching Return to Oz. The words reference an erosion of a central character‚Äôs internal reality. A loss of innocence is the impetus for a journey to find inner truth. In the film, Dorothy returns to the world of Oz to find its landscape in ruins and its citizens frozen in stone. Only she can find the ruby slippers and return peace to Oz. Only we can save ourselves, but we first have to remember who we truly are.”

“Angelo is mostly known for his intimate home recordings; his music is quiet and confessional,”¬†adds Sufjan.¬†“So for ‚ÄėBack To Oz‚Äô we decided to go for something flashier. The song has a fun guitar groove, so we gave it some bass and drums, and Angelo even recorded his first electric guitar solo. It‚Äôs a sad song‚ÄĒbeing mostly about disillusionment‚ÄĒbut it has a great party vibe too.”

“We love the dreamlike quality of ‚ÄėBack To Oz‚Äô and how the chorus transports the listener to another world,”¬†says video director Horan.¬†“We wanted to evoke those same feelings through the visuals.”

“I love to make anything and everything come alive‚ÄĒthe clouds, a fork‚ÄĒeverything has a soul and can become a living, breathing thing. So the idea of creating a whole world engrossed me”, says Murray, animator for the video.

The new tracks follow ‘Reach Out‘ and ‘Olympus‘, released last month.A Beginner‚Äôs Mind‚Äôs 14 songs are inspired by films Sufjan and Angelo watched while writing together for a month at a friend‚Äôs place in upstate New York. Choosing a movie to unwind after each day‚Äôs work, they soon began finding inspiration in their nightly entertainment, using the concept of shoshin (literally “a beginner‚Äôs mind”), the I-Ching and Brian Eno‚Äôs Oblique Strategies as guiding principles.

Pre-order special coloured edition vinyl, other formats, and related merch including a 7-inch of ‘Back To Oz’ and ‘Fictional California’ here:

Sufjan Stevens is an artist, songwriter and composer living in New York. He has released nine widely lauded studio albums and a number of collaborations with fellow musicians, choreographers and visual artists from the New York City Ballet and the celebrated director Luca Guadagnino to his stepfather Lowell Brams and noted dancer Jalaiah Harmon.Angelo De Augustine is an artist and songwriter living in Thousand Oaks, California‚ÄĒa suburb north of Los Angeles, where he grew up. He has released three albums including his self-released debut,¬†Spirals of Silence¬†(2014), and two for Asthmatic Kitty Records,¬†Swim Inside The Moon¬†(2017) and¬†Tomb¬†(2019).

Photo credit: Daniel Anum Jasper

High-res images can be found here.

A Beginner’s Mind¬†tracklist:

1. Reach Out 3:43
2. Lady Macbeth In Chains 3:42
3. Back To Oz 4:25
4. The Pillar Of Souls 4:04
5. You Give Death A Bad Name 5:11
6. Beginner’s Mind 2:36
7. Olympus 3:07
8. Murder And Crime 3:43
9. (This Is) The Thing 3:13
10. It’s Your Own Body And Mind 2:27
11. Lost In The World 3:20
12. Fictional California 3:03
13. Cimmerian Shade 5:01
14. Lacrimae 2:05